Board of Directors

The Board of Directors meet at 10:00 am on the last Sunday in March, May, September and November at the Brookfield Fire Hall and hold a conference call on the last Sunday in January at 7:00 pm.



Jim Roper

FSANS President

Jim Roper joined the Pictou Landing Fire Dept as a junior Fire Fighter in the 1970’s and has been an active member ever since. Rising up through the ranks, Jim is presently serving in his fifth term as Fire Chief. A long time member of the Pictou County Firefighters Association and was actively involved in the design and construction of the Association’s Live Fire Trainer. Jim is married with 2 children.

Contact Information:
email -




Daniel Gaudet

FSANS 1st Vice President

Daniel has been a member of the Saint-Bernard Fire Department for 31 years, and Fire Chief for the last 19, he held the post of past President of the Clare Fire Fighters Association and a current member of the Maritime Fire Chief’s Association.  Daniel is also involved as a Committee Chair for the Clare Firefighter’s Training Committee.

Contact Information:
Ph: (902)837-7680 Cell: (902)841-0413
email -



Merlyn Smith

FSANS 2nd Vice President

Biography pending


Beth Edwards

Executive Director

Beth Edwards has retired from HRM Fire & Emergency Services, she was there since 2005 in the role of Administrative Support for Operations. She has over twenty years experience in the administrative field, more...



Mike Lockett

FSANS Director for Annapolis County

Biography pending


ALTERNATE: Chris Barker

Robert MacPherson

FSANS Director for Antigonish County

Robert joined the Antigonish Town Fire Dept. in 1987 and is currently in his 30th year. He has attained Level 2 Firefighter Certification,  Advanced  RIT Training as well as Medical First Responder. After being involved in a number of extremely bad Firefighting and Rescue situations, he experienced  first  hand  the need for Critical Incident Stress support and education.  As a result, he took Critical Incident Stress Training, and in 1997 joined the Nova Scotia Fire Service Critical Incident Stress Team and continues to be a member to this day. During his 30 years with Antigonish Town Fire Dept.  he held various positions including Firefighter,  Rescue Captain, Pumper Lieutenant, Fire Chief for 5 of those years, and currently Deputy Fire Chief.  He has worked at Michelin Tire for 38 years and 21 of those years on the Michelin Emergency Response Team with many years as Crew Captain.  Married to the love of his life Patricia, they have 3 beautiful daughters  Amy, Jenny and Sylvia and along with their families was further blessed with 5 Grand Children.


Contact Information:

Robert MacPherson
83 Brookland St.
Antigonish, NS B2G 1W1
Home: (902) 863-2704
Cell: (902) 872-0522


ALTERNATE: George Derabbie

Chris March

FSANS Director for Cape Breton Regional Municipality

Biography pending




Terry Canning

FSANS Director for Colchester County

Terry has been Deputy Chief of Brookfield Fire and Emergency Services since 2001 and has held numerous other offices since joining the fire service in 1980. more...


ALTERNATE: Wade Jennings

Andy Yarrow

FSANS Director for Cumberland County

Andy Yarrow has been with the Pugwash District Volunteer Fire Department since September 1994. He is a Level I Firefighter and has progressed through the ranks of the Pugwash Fire Department to currently hold the position of Fire Chief. more...


Nick Power

FSANS Director for Digby County

Nick Power began his firefighting career with the Salmon River Fire Department Digby County in 1993.  He was a member there for 15 years; he held various positions Lieutenant, Captain, Deputy-Chief, and Chief.  In 2008 he took a break from the fire service. Then joining Saint Bernard in 2013, were he is now Deputy-Chief and president of Clare Firefighters Association


ALTERNATE: Michel Belliveau

Shawn Andrews

FSANS Director for Guysborough County

Biography pending

ALTERNATE: Kerry Archibald

Gord West

FSANS Director for Halifax Regional Municipality

Gord West started his Fire service career in 1979 with the Beaver Bank Kinsac Volunteer Fire Department (station 48). He served as an officer at all levels for 27 of 28 years as a Volunteer. He held the Chief position for 8 years. In 2007 he was hired by HRM Fire as an Acting District Chief for the Eastern Shore. His position changed to Division Commander in 2010 and he now looks after ten Departments from Beaver Bank to Upper Musquodoboit, two of which have staff. He is Blue Card and Level 2 Officer Certified and has ICS 300. He looks after all the maintenance and installations of over a hundred-thirty dry hydrants in HRM. He presently serves on the JOSH committee and also works with Airport Fire developing a working mutual aid relationship.



Kory Orchard

FSANS Director for Hants County

Kory Orchard has been a member of the Lantz Fire & Emergency Services since 2006 and is a Level 1 Certified Firefighter along with Ice Water and Swift Water Rescue Technician. He has previously served as department executive secretary and is currently treasurer. Kory has held various fireground positions of Lieutenant, Captain and has served as Deputy Chief since 2011.


Contact Information:


ALTERNATE: Terry MacAloney

Robert MacEachern

FSANS Director for Inverness County

Biography pending

ALTERNATE: Curtis Doucet

Andrew Mitton

FSANS Director for Kings County

Andrew Mitton joined the New Minas Fire Department in 1998 and is currently serving as a Captain. He is a level II Firefighter and Hazardous Materials Technician. Andrew started his career with the Department of Natural Resources as a Wildland Firefighter in 1998 before becoming a Paramedic in 2001. In 2012 he became the Regional Planning Officer for the Nova Scotia Emergency Management Office. Andrew is a trained in the positions of Incident Commander and Safety Officer and currently instructs for Incident Command courses for ICS Canada.


ALTERNATE: Darrel Geddes

Bill Falkenham

FSANS Director for Lunenburg County

Bill was a founding member and is a charter member of Chester Basin Volunteer Fire Department since 1982. He served in several different positions as Captain, Deputy Chief and recently retired as Chief after eight years and remains an active member. He is a member of the Maritime Fire Chiefs Association since 1994.

ALTERNATE: Corey Zinck


David Sponagle

FSANS Director for Pictou County

A member of Thorburn Fire Dept. for 36 years, I rose through the ranks, and became Fire Chief in 2003. As of Feb. 8,2012, I became a retired Fire Chief. I am still active in the Fire Dept. and have taken the position of Safety Officer. more...



Moyal Conrad

FSANS Director for Queens Regional Municipality

Biography pending


Raymond Ferguson

FSANS Director for Richmond County

Raymond has been a volunteer firefighter for the past 28 years, holding positions of Captain and Deputy Chief before coming Chief of the St. Peter’s and District Volunteer Fire Department more...


Dale Richardson

FSANS Director for Shelburne County

Biography unavailable at this time.



Lyle Donovan

FSANS Director for Victoria County

Biography unavailable at this time.




Art Rose

FSANS Director for Yarmouth County

Art Rose began fire service with the Port Maitland Volunteer Fire Dept, Yarmouth County, in 1973. He has served as a fire fighter, training officer, and is now serving as Safety Officer. He was also Deputy Chief for a few years. more...




Ron Thibeau

Fire Marshal's Office

Biography unavailable at this time.

ALTERNATE: Fred Jeffers

John Cunningham

Nova Scotia Firefighters School

Biography unavailable at this time.

ALTERNATE: Preston Ilsley